Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
310 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First of all, I ride a Trek 2200, and everything is stock. I am pleased with the bike and enjoy the ride, but all of my riding buddies swear by their setups on mostly similar bikes. They all plead with me to flip my stem upside down like theirs.

I know that conventional wisdom (especially on this forum) says "if it ain't broke, don't fix it," "stick with a proper fit," and "that's very subjective, some like it, some don't" but I want to hear some independent opinions. I started riding with the guys in my group years ago. They have all done crits and TTs in the past, and I just enjoy being on the bike. I enjoy a fast pace and pushing myself, but there are also times when I like to go for distance or simply just get out of the house for a stroll on nice days. Also, I'm still young and in shape, so the back is not a problem YET.

I just want to hear some opinions about what to expect and what I might expect to gain/lose from making this move before I try it. All other things equal: what advantage does this sort of move primarily yield? Weight distribution? Reach? Drop? Position? Are there drawbacks? Stability? Stamina/comfort over distance?

·
Registered
170 Posts