Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
416 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm still fairly new to road biking and have been looking to replace the stock Specialized stem that came with my bike. I feel a lot of flexing coming from the bar/stem combo and would like to try replacing the stem first since I like the feel of the bar.

I would like to find the stiffest, reasonably priced ( <$150 ), most reliable, alloy stem out there. So far I've been considering these three:

http://www.excelsports.com/new.asp?...d+Wet+Blk&vendorCode=RITCHEY&major=1&minor=22

http://www.excelsports.com/new.asp?...1.8+Black&vendorCode=THOMSON&major=1&minor=22

http://www.excelsports.com/new.asp?...on+31.8+Stem&vendorCode=DEDA&major=1&minor=22

Any thoughts on the above three stems?

Any other suggestions?

Reliability, and stiffness are more important to me than weight, though obviously the lighter the better. I'm 6'2" and around 190lbs if that matters.

Thanks in advance for all your help!

·
Registered
1 Posts
Thomson

I have owned all three and would recommend the thomson above all else. The Deda Newton is pretty good and actually what I am riding right now. I thought the ritchey 4 axis was fairly flexy. If you are really worried about flex mount one of the thomson 4 bolt stems, they are not even that heavy.

·
Naso Unicornis
875 Posts
CurbDestroyer said:
Well I guess some has to start it, and it might as well be me . . . Thomson.
My personal favorite, any thomson elite.

Good Grief! . . . Just look at it!
I whole heartedly agree. I switched to the the Thomson X2 when I went to ovesize handlebars but the Elite is by far the better stem. It was far stiffer than the X2.

l wish they could make this compatible with Carbon Forks and 31.8mm stems. My Easton fork says not to use opposing wedge types of stems.

CHL

·
Registered
416 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·