Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Big is relative
11,901 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Who is doing it? I am doing the one day version so I guess I am staying in Seattle on Friday and Saturday nights. I am bummed about the bike delivery on Sunday morning and the fact that the first bus doesn't leave until 7 pm. I plan on leaving at 5 am so I have a number of riders in front and behind.

I will look for a good group and try to get the first 100 with one stop. .I want to put the sketchy riders behind me. So far the weather forecast looks promising. I have had my share of bad weather STPs, I am due for a good one.

·
Registered
1,020 Posts
I'm doing the one day it with a couple of friends. We are planning on leaving as early as possible. I've never done it before, but the other guys have done it. I'm really psyched to be doing it.

·
Registered
1,872 Posts
You definitely don't want to leave too late. There are a lot of morons that leave during the 7-8am time slot.... it seems that many of them have never ventured off the bike path, let alone on to an organized ride before.

·
MING
419 Posts
bill dont worry, i wont be there. if you recall i almost killed you on flying wheels. good riding with you by the way.

i did stp before, the one day version. it was fun. but its the same day as the death ride. your weather looks better than mine

have a good, safe ride you all.

·
Registered
2,274 Posts
Wow, Good luck.
I really really can't understand the reason to ride that organized ride when all I ever hear is how dangerous it is with all the 'Freds' out there to avoid. Or the close-call stories or the advice to leave before dawn to avoid the crush, and on and on. There seem to be so many reasons to NOT ride Seattle to Portland on that particular day that it amazes me people will choose to do it and some even do it over and over.