Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2,744 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to Strava, having just started to use it this year. One thing I've found interesting is that there are so many "segments" that people have defined. There's almost 1 segment every mile (actual YTD data: 180 segments on 218 miles). Most of the segments are on fairly unremarkable stretches of road, and many of the significant hills have multiple segments defined. I ride in a fairly rural area in northwest NJ, and I'm just wondering if this is typical for other parts of the country.

·
Registered
268 Posts
Users are free to create segments wherever they want, without much restriction. There is a message that displays when making a segment, when there is a similar segment already created, but that's about it.

The more people in the area that ride, the more likely it will be to have segments. There aren't many people that ride in my area compared to other parts of the country, but there are multiple overlapping segments on popular roads or climbs.

·
Forever a Student
4,963 Posts
Once you click the "Hide" button for a segment you never have to see it again.

There's very few segments I pay any attention to, most are junk.

On many of the climbs, the people who make the segments aren't even smart enough to start and stop the segment in the correct places. They're unaware that you have to zoom in the map to get fine adjustment of the stop and start points. What good is a climb segment that ends halfway down the other side?

If you think your area is bad, try riding on Zwift and check out all of those segments.

·
Registered
1,025 Posts
It's a bit ridiculous around here as well. There are segments on every mile of several loops.