Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
590 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Do new school high intensity lights come with any instructions? Running them in strobe mode at night blinds oncoming traffic. Not what you'd want riding towards a car. Just saying

·
Registered
196 Posts
I think the impact depends on the light, settings, and installation. I run strobes at night, front and rear on the bike. Solid lights are on the helmet front and rear.

The front strobe is set to a lower setting and aimed down at the road, away from oncoming cars. I want drivers to know it's a bicycle, not a motorcycle or walker.

·
Registered
518 Posts
Instructions to do what, when to strobe? I suspect not as all cyclists have immaculate common sense and know exactly when strobing should be used.

Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
8,792 Posts
I'm not a proponent of using a strobe during the day, but I just don't understand using a strobe at night.

This ain't no disco, this ain't no party, this ain't no foolin' around.

·
Registered
105 Posts
I believe they are not helping driver/cyclist relations. Personally find them annoying when Im driving and I come up to a super bright blinking head light day or night. I can imagine it really pisses off someone who is not a cyclist when they realize that bright blinky is just someone on a bike.

You will get noticed when using it that's for sure.

·
Registered
14,713 Posts
The instructions read, "go to nearest internet forum and join in endless, inconclusive, ongoing loud argument." Excuse me, that should read "lively discussion."

Just point it down a bit so it doesn't shine directly in people's eyes.

·
Off the back
1,850 Posts
Better to annoy them than getting that run down feeling.
In nighttime darkness, a strobe makes little sense. At least worthless for seeing junk on the road. Maybe use in tandem with another light, but point the strobe down down down.