Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
168 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is going to be an employment question so I guess i'll start with some of the details:

I am one of the few, the lucky even, who was able to graduate college in 2009 and walk right into a job. I had the fortune to land an internship my junior year and was able to ride that out right into a "real person" job. The only bad news is, I just don't like it.

I graduated with a Bachelors of Science in Business Administration concentrating in Finance. I don't feel like that leaves me too many options, either I work with numbers, or I work with other numbers. Currently my position is a "Financial Analyst". It sounds very powerful but if the job description was more accurate I would be "King of Pivot Tables".

Now I've been in this position for about a year and i'm feeling that its time for a change. I'm still young (23) and have been tossing around the idea of going to Law School (my minor was in Legal Studies, my minor GPA was also a full point higher than my major GPA :confused:) So I have a series of questions buried in this rambling post.

1- Is 1 year of real experience backed by a year of internship experience enough to move to another position?

B- Will I get stuck in the world of Finance the longer I stay in this position? (I wouldn't mind checking out other aspects of business, for instance I might make a hell of a salesman!)

I have put out about 20+ resumes online over the last month or two (definetly the lazy approach) and have heard back from literally nobody. Should I just HTFU? Yeah, probably.

-Bill

·
my legs hurt
1,012 Posts