Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off I should be better prepared. I screwed up and I know it. I run tubular tires and I'm new to cycling; so let me know how dumb this sounds. I just examined at my rear tire and it looks very bald. I feel it needs to be replace now, but I guess I could race on it. I called the local cycle shop and they do not have the model specific replacement I'm currently using. I have a big (tri) race on sunday. I just replaced my front tire a couple hundred miles ago. I have 3 tires that came with the bike originally that are in good shape. Two are used and 1 is new. should I put the tire i'm comfortable with on the rear and put one of the other tires on the front? Changing the rear tire on my cervelo p3 is a PITA due to the rear dropout position. I figured I put my trusted tire on the rear and reglue it, then put the unknown tire on the front which would be a faster fix if it blows in a race.

·
Get me to In&Out
4,775 Posts
I don't think putting a risky tire on the front is the answer. It may take longer to swap out the rear, but how long will it take if you crash? The front wheel is where you want the good tire. The bike follows where that wheel goes. If you lose the front at any point, especially in a turn, you will meet the road quickly. The amount of time to swap out a tire should not be a factor in your decision.

·
Registered
1,055 Posts
spookyload said:
I don't think putting a risky tire on the front is the answer. It may take longer to swap out the rear, but how long will it take if you crash? The front wheel is where you want the good tire. The bike follows where that wheel goes. If you lose the front at any point, especially in a turn, you will meet the road quickly. The amount of time to swap out a tire should not be a factor in your decision.
I'm with you.

·
Old, slow, and fat.
3,897 Posts
Aaah geez! Not THIS again?