Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
5,061 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm still a little new to this road stuff. On the long rides (50+ mi) my arms/shoulders seem to get more sensitive to vibration as the ride goes. I'm already running 25mm tires at a decent pressure.

Switching from an alloy to a carbon bar was very noticeable in mtb. Will I get the same benefit on my road bike?

What about these Richey Carbon/Alloy matrix bars I have seen?
http://www.ritcheylogic.com/dyn_prodfamily.php?k=299957
Will I get that vibration dampening without paying that high carbon price? (like the Easton EC90's)

·
Cycling induced anoesis
13,006 Posts
I'll say upfront that I think CF bars/ stems are marketing hype. They cost far more than alloy, (from my admittedly limited research) fail more often and sometimes weigh more. I know your question was focused on vibration damping (and that I have no experience with), but considering the disadvantages and what you might do to minimize your discomfort, I'd pass on the CFoption.

Some remedies you could try are.. keeping the upper torso relaxed, arms slightly bent at the elbows and a slightly loose grip on the bars, changing hand positions frequently. Gel tape (some double wrap it) and good quality gloves also help.

Although your discomfort seems minimal and after longer rides, this is when fit deficiencies can surface, so check that your saddle is at least level (I ride mine slightly tipped up at the front) and I find that it sometimes helps to have KOPS set back about 1cm. I'm offering both as considerations, because you may know already that one or both don't work for you.

I'd try the options listed before spending money on such a questionable remedy. I'm sure you'll find someone singing the praises of CF stems and bars, but you probably would as well after shelling out the money for them. :eek:

·
old school drop out
1,578 Posts