Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

Buy that Synapse?

• YES - Frame/Wheels/Groupset worth it!

Votes: 12 57.1%
  • NO - Get a race bike instead

Votes: 2 9.5%
  • NO - Keep your BMC and save $ for something else.

Votes: 7 33.3%
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all.

I'm relatively new to bike scene and need your assistance.
I bought BMC GF bike last year as my 1st road bike. Used it for rides, commute and everything: it was way more comfy, then I expected, honestly. I was choosing gravel bike as do-it-all, but realized that I don't ride gravel roads: I replaced 35 tires with 32 gravelking slicks. Could probably go with 28 instead.

Now I got a nice deal on cannondale synapse himod: SRAM RED Hydro vs Shimano 685/105 group. Carbon frame vs aluminum. Carbon wheels vs aluminum. Looks like a nice upgrade, right? Price is very good too.

But when I started asking, people advise on getting a race bike, like supersix (or any other brand) instead.

I think I never did more then 100km at once: usually I ride 2-3 hrs. I was riding more with my friends, but that very very relaxed ride. I don't see myself racing, may be in 2-3 years, but not now. I don't see myself doing long bike trips as well. I see myself on short and fast rides around the city, or even doing track riding. I live in the city, so roads are far from perfect here.

So, what do you think about it?
On the other hand it's enough to make an upgrade, just because of carbon frame/wheels/groupset. I see difference between my BMC and Synapse is more then between Synapse and Supersix.
On the other hand, may be I should go with race bike instead?

Thanks.

ps. What does Hi-mod means? I get that it's a better/stiffer carbon, but does it make bike lighter, using less carbon, or does it make bike stiffer, with same weight?

·
your god hates me
1,553 Posts
But when I started asking, people advise on getting a race bike, like supersix (or any other brand) instead.