Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Banned
147 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
There are only 4 people I've ridden with, and they all ride in higher gears than I do. A 5'3" female--rides in 1-2 gears higher than me, a 5'10" male who rides 2-3 gears higher than me, and a 5'6" male who rides 3-4 gears higher than me. We are all about the same speed and I am 50-120 lbs heavier than all of them (6'6" 240 here).

I come from a weight lifting background and when I started riding I would use 2-3 gears higher than I do now but now I'm usually in the 3rd or 4th cog from the largest in the rear. Is there something about long limbs that is conducive to being better at a higher cadence (seems counter intuitive to me) or is it just how I pedal? I have no way of knowing their exact cadence versus mine but it would seem that if we are going the same speed and I'm in a larger cog, I would HAVE to be spinning faster...

·
Registered
1,450 Posts
I have no way of knowing their exact cadence versus mine but it would seem that if we are going the same speed and I'm in a larger cog, I would HAVE to be spinning faster...
Your assumption has several flaws (assuming you are all on similar 700c tires): different size cogs in the same place on different cassettes and/or different sized chain rings, etc.

If real time cadence is important to you, get a computer to measure it.

I have to admit, after 20 years of riding with 5+ years as a mechanic, I don't know the difference between a higher gear, a lower gear, 1st gear and 20th or whatever gear. I don't really know what higher and lower means. For example: Higher - as in higher up the cassette or higher as in harder to pedal. I use simple ideas like: don't go big/big or small/small; I was in my 52-17; I have never been able to turn a 53-11; etc.