Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
There's a ride across the Tappan Zee bridge on September 28th to benefit research for MS. I've signed up for it and I'm hoping to do the 60 mile route (which goes up to the Bear Mountain Bridge). I'm brand new to cycling, so I'm wondering what the terrain is like.

Has anyone done this ride before? Any pointers on training? Thanks.

·
Registered
386 Posts
According to the web site, there is a series of training rides in August. I suggest you contact the ride leader and ask him.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Tappan Zee ride

I have done it a few times. it's a nice route that I would describe as moderately hilly. I'd guess there is 3500 feet of climbing on the metric century. The climb before the Bear Mtn bridge is a good one that's probably almost a mile long, though not too steep. Otherwise a fair amount of up and down, but nothing sustained. It's a well run ride that's worth doing. It's cool to ride across the bridge, though with all the congestion it's hard to look up or down the Hudson too much to enjoy the views.

·
Banned
1,844 Posts
How new are you to cycling? I did that event the first 3 years they had it-- not sure how to describe the ride, but it's got more than a few hills and, depending on how much you've been riding, over 60 miles it could add up. If you take your time you should be fine--

just don't plan on getting a t-shirt in the size you requested-- they give them out at the end- the people doing the shorter ride get back first and get whatever they ask for.

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Brand spanking new. I've done one long ride (long to me -- 35ish miles), and I'm starting to ride an hour a day now, and plan on increasing that time as the ride gets closer.

How long should it take to finish the ride? I certainly don't want to be in the middle of nowhere by myself.

·
Banned
1,844 Posts
TwoTonesTony said: