Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
270 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I am studying the Tarmac Expert frames at the Specialized website. The regular Ultegra version and the Rival version of the Expert model are stated built with the 8r frame.

However, the Tarmac Expert Compact frame is stated built with the 6r frame. Is this true or is this a mistake? I'm not sure why the frame would be downgraded on the Compact model, without a price decrease. Is the Tarmac Expert Compact actually built with the 6r frame or the 8r frame?

Edited for clarity: If I click on the "features" section for the Tarmac Expert Compact frame, it states it is built with the 6r frame. If I click on the "technical specifications" section for the Tarmac Expert Compact frame, it states it is built with the 8r frame, adding to my confusion.

Can anyone clear this up once and for all?

·
Registered
545 Posts
be careful

i noticed that too..

you better be darn sure of that as the frames ride qualities are way different!!!

the Expert frame with AZ1 construction (split seatstay) is MILES better than the 6r construction (monostay).

ask the dealer to clarify, and put HIS word on it that it is exactly what you are asking for, maybe even get it in writing??

specialized might be trying to clear out some old 6r frames before the switch to the new SL2 moulds..

hope this helps

·
Registered
270 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
It does help a lot, I think it is always a good idea to be cautious. Here's a question: doesn't Specialized, like most bike companies, put a decal on their road bikes specifying exactly which frame material you are getting?

For example, Trek puts "OCLV" on their better carbon fiber road bikes. Wouldn't Specialized put "8r" on a frame if it was so, and "6r" on that particular build?

·
Cycling induced anoesis
13,019 Posts
a_avery007 said:
i noticed that too..

you better be darn sure of that as the frames ride qualities are way different!!!