Team TIBCO wins Women's Prestige Series overall title.

Los Altos, California - Following their overall team general classification victory at the Cascade Classic in July, the TIBCO Women's Pro Cycling Team sealed a convincing win in the team overall title of the 2009 Women's Prestige Cycling Series. Team TIBCO won the overall team general classification in three of the four races comprising the WPCS, including the Redlands Classic and the Nature Valley Grand Prix.

"One of our goals coming into this year was to be the top women's team in North America," said Team TIBCO founder and manager Linda Jackson. "We've shown race after race that we have the strongest team, and we're proud to have earned the team title of the Women's Prestige Series."

Team TIBCO won the overall by a comfortable 500-point margin over Team Type 1, with five of the team's riders placing in the top 11 of the individual standings, including Katharine Carroll in 2nd place, and Joanne Kiesanowski in 4th. Julie Beveridge, who finished 10th in the individual standings, finished 2nd over all in the Young Rider category.

"We've been able to take advantage of our team's depth on numerous occasions without having to rely on a single rider to get results," Jackson said. "With so many riders capable of delivering, we've tried to make the racing hard every time out and put pressure on the other teams."

Team TIBCO now has it sights set on two NRC races in North Carolina this weekend, the Presbyterian Hospital Invitational in Charlotte on Saturday, and the Hanes Park Classic in Winston-Salem on Sunday. Last year, Carroll won in Charlotte ahead of Brooke Miller of Team TIBCO, while Miller took the win in Hanes Park the next day.

Photo (c) Jonathan Devich/Epic Images