The podium for the Cannondale Incycle Old Town San Dimas Classic criterium (from left): Cody O'Reilly (fourth place), Lucas Sebastian Haedo (second), winner Jonathan Cantwell, John Murphy (third) and Shawn Milne (fifth).

San Dimas, Calif. - Shawn Milne added to Team Type 1's polka dot jersey collection by winning the King of the Mountains classification Sunday at the San Dimas Stage Race.

The Beverly, Mass., resident scored the seventh King of the Mountains (KOM) title in the 15-month history of the men's professional team program. Last week, it was teammate Jesse Anthony who earned KOM honors at the Tour de Taiwan.

Milne also registered his second top 10 finish of the three-day, three-stage event by placing fifth in Sunday's Cannondale Incycle Old Town San Dimas Classic criterium. He finished sixth and Fabio Calabria was seventh in Saturday's 84-mile (135 km) San Dimas Hospital Road Race.

Calabria was the only one of the 150 starters in the race who had Type 1 diabetes. The 21-year-old had to closely monitor his blood sugar level before, during and after racing because his body does not naturally produce insulin.

His top 10 finish Saturday was all the more remarkable considering he only learned on Wednesday that he would be racing in place of fellow Australian Matt Wilson, who is still fighting a stomach problem that forced his withdrawal from the Vuelta Mexico Telmex earlier this month.

"I'm pretty happy with my result," Calabria said. "The road race was fairly challenging, with everyone hitting the climb pretty hard on every lap. As for my blood sugar, everything was fine."

Ben Day (Fly V Australia presented by Successful Living Foundation) won the overall title by seven seconds after capturing Friday's opening Glendora Chevrolet Time Trial. The winner of Saturday's road race, Phillip Gaimon (Jelly Belly Pro Cycling Team) was second and Chris Baldwin (Rock Racing) finished third, 15 seconds behind Day.

Milne finished 24th overall, 1:13 back, while Calabria was 32nd (1:33 behind). Team Type 1's other finishers were Chris Jones (51st, 2:31 behind) and Ken Hanson (55th, 2:34 behind).

Team Type 1's All-Time King of the Mountain Champions
2008: Glen Chadwick, Tour de Beauce (Canada)
2008: Moises Aldape, Bend Memorial Clinic Cascade Cycling Classic (United States)
2008: Glen Chadwick, Larry H. Miller Tour of Utah (United States)
2008: Matt Wilson, Tour of Ireland (Ireland)
2008: Matt Wilson, Jayco Herald Sun Tour (Australia)
2009: Jesse Anthony, Tour de Taiwan (Taiwan)
2009: Shawn Milne, San Dimas Stage Race (United States)

Photo Copyright: Brian Hodes, VeloImages