Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, so we're just getting into cycling. We did a 55 mile ride and the last few miles we both had to stand up off the seats. My legs are soar, but what made the end of the ride most difficult was the tender skin on my bottom that just feels a bit raw.

Since I'm a newbie I didn't wear any special bike clothes. I wore fitted workout wicking pants that are usually very comfortable on the bicycle. Would padded biker shorts make a difference? Anything else?

My seat is fairly padded, but not too big so my legs don't rub or anything. I ride a hybrid roadbike - Cannondale Quick 4.

I want to do some more long rides and push myself, but ouch! Any advice?

·
Registered
663 Posts
andulong said:
Yes, a good pair of cycling shorts should help, that is what they are designed for. No underwear underneath!
This.

Also, your behind will be sore after the first few rides regardless of what you wear. If the soreness doesn't progressively decrease, you may have a fit issue.

If there is any visible injury (saddle sores), this should not be accepted/tolerated. If you have this issue, get thee some padded shorts asap, and consider using chamois cream on longer rides.

·
Vintage cyclist
732 Posts
You just gotta get used to sitting on a bike seat. That's all.

55 miles for one of your first rides is pretty aggressive, though. No wonder your butt is sore.

Proper cycling shorts will help with chafing issues more than soreness. And if you're going to continually do 50+ miles, then you need some. About the only time I don't wear my cycling shorts, is if I'm commuting to work or making a running an errand under 5 miles or so. But for any sort of "serious" cycling, whether for leisure or training, I'll wear cycling shorts (bibs, actually).