Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

· Large Suburban Male
4,131 Posts
Clinchers are held onto the rim by air pressure and a bead/hook. Tubulars are glued to the rim. I've never ridden tubulars, but my understanding is that if you put them on wrong, it can be disastrous. Clinchers can be a PITA to install, but if you put them on wrong, and don't notice, you get a flat or a rough ride.

The whole compact v standard is for someone else. I've been riding for well over 25 years, and never really looked into it.

· Registered
12,593 Posts
If you are talking about compact cranks versus standard cranks, it just has to do with the number of teeth on the chainrings. The arm lengths are still the same. A compact crank has teeth of 50/34 whereas a standard crank usually has 53/39. When I was building my first "new" bike in 2006 after riding my old one since 1985, I had a little trouble understanding this too.

Essentially, the compact cranks are used a lot by people that need a wider gear selection and those that do a ton of climbing on some really steep stuff. I guess it all depends on what you plan on using them for. I went with standard cranks since it is easier to change a cassette instead of a crank.

· Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Yea, sorry I wasn't clear about the compact cranks vs. standard cranks. I think I also understand the tubular vs. clincher, but not wholly. Should compact cranks be generally lighter than standard cranks?

· Registered
610 Posts
fabsroman said:
If you are talking about compact cranks versus standard cranks, it just has to do with the number of teeth on the chainrings. The arm lengths are still the same. A compact crank has teeth of 50/34 whereas a standard crank usually has 53/39. When I was building my first "new" bike in 2006 after riding my old one since 1985, I had a little trouble understanding this too.

<sigh>