Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been riding a Trek hybrid for about 5 years. I have been given a 15 year old Trek road bike and need some advice on handling it. The brakes seem to be in a very difficult place to use them, on thes drop down handle bars. I see riders holding on to the top of the bars, and is seems like it takes too long th move from the top to the break. Do I just need practice? Is there an accessory that moves the brake handles to the top bar? Sorry for the dumb question. I have a few more I'm afraid.
thanks,
Boddie

·
Proud luddite
7,232 Posts
Welcome aboard! If I understand this correctly, sounds like you're just getting used to the different position that a rider assumes on a road bike compared to being more upright on a hybrid. It might just be a matter of getting adjusted to the differences in the designs and frame geometries. But it might also be a situation where you have not been fitted properly on the road bike. It might be worth taking it to a bike shop where they can help you with that....making sure the saddle is at the right height, the reach of the handlebars is right for you, etc. Once you get dialed in with the right fit, you should find riding the road bike much more comfortable.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks, you are dead on right. The difference form the straight bars to the dropped bars is totally different. I took it by my bike shop and replaced both tubes and had them show me how the shifters worked. The guy I got if from and I are about the same size. He is perhaps two inches taller. I think I have the seat adjusted correctly. I guess I just need to ride it to get used to it.

·
a real member's member
3,880 Posts
it may be that your road bike brake levers are just not mounted high enough for you to "ride the hoods" as this pic shows:

when i first began road cycling as an adult, i would brake from the drops as shown here: