Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
142 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am wondering if anyone has any tips, suggestions or general perspectives on feeling super hungry after hard rides. I find after doing a lot of climbing or otherwise hard intervals I am REALLY hungry the next day.

I've been trying to eat a good amount of healthy food after these harder rides, while not overeating, but still sometimes wind up feeling really worked and starving and just want to eat everything that isn't nailed down the next day. Most recent occurrence was last night, when I wound up eating 3 or 4 PB&J sandwiches in addition to 3 cliff/power bars and a little yogurt. Either really freaking hungry or a binge, depending on how you choose to look at things... People say you need to eat, but I'm pretty sure I consumed over 4500 calories for the whole day, which seems excessive...

For reference, I am new to racing; CAT 5, 6 feet, weight around 168-170ish. I would describe my build as medium. I don't have a big chest and don't put on upper body muscle real easily. I don't put on weight as quickly as some, but definitely have to watch what I eat and definitely like to weigh less. I have gained/lost the same 5 pounds a few times over the last 6 months, but haven't been able to sustain the lower weight.

I do have some issues around food and weight (don't most cyclists?) and until now had assumed the struggle was more psychological than anything else, but am wondering if there is more to it than that and thought I would ask if anyone else has experienced this and has figured out how to address it in terms of tangible factors like amount/type of food eaten, training load, rest, etc...

·
waterproof*
41,611 Posts
fat and protein. most riders over-do carbs and simple starches.

this month's Bicycling mag has a really good article on this.

·
Life Coach
2,523 Posts