Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Lizzie will ride free
3,156 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So the other day I'm looking over my rain bike, and I noticed that my nice old Cinelli stem had a nice sharp line around it where it was scored once by the top of a headset. I'm no mechanical engineer, but it looked like a lovely place for a crack to start. That stem is in the garbage.

Tonight, I took the bike apart to move a bunch of parts to a different frame, and this is how I find my seat post. This is a bike I ride the heck out of, so it just gave me the willies. Be careful out there.

· Lizzie will ride free
3,156 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
OK, I guess my close-up photography skills are lacking. The second shot is of the lower bracket that holds the seat rail. It's split along its entire length almost all the way through. Perhaps this shows it better.

Seemed dramatic to me. :)

· Registered
1,318 Posts
jplatzner said:
OK, I guess my close-up photography skills are lacking. The second shot is of the lower bracket that holds the seat rail. It's split along its entire length almost all the way through. Perhaps this shows it better.

Seemed dramatic to me. :)
Yow! I must have a billion miles on that same Campy seat post - never seen a problem like that! Makes me wonder if it yours was tightened down too hard...

· Registered
1,860 Posts
Dave_Stohler said:
looks like ductile failure to me......
Hmmm... I don't see anything ductile about that failure (except for the bending apart of between the two sides of the crack, but by the time it starting bending apart, the crack was already far along the road to failure).