Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a newbie who has been bit hard by the road bike bug. I test rode a 2009 Fierte and preferred it over a Trek Medone 5.2. The 5.2 was sweet on the eyes vs. the black or white Fierte. The LBS had a CDA in Red/White/Blue -- team color of ? (as I mentioned I am new to the game, so give me a break). The CDA was orig. a different color and the LBS had it repainted by Serotta. The CDA is $500 more than the Fierte? Is it worth it? What is a good base price for the 2009 Fierte? Thanks for your insight!

·
Registered
1,037 Posts
bondbike said:
I am a newbie who has been bit hard by the road bike bug. I test rode a 2009 Fierte and preferred it over a Trek Medone 5.2. The 5.2 was sweet on the eyes vs. the black or white Fierte. The LBS had a CDA in Red/White/Blue -- team color of ? (as I mentioned I am new to the game, so give me a break). The CDA was orig. a different color and the LBS had it repainted by Serotta. The CDA is $500 more than the Fierte? Is it worth it? What is a good base price for the 2009 Fierte? Thanks for your insight!
Is it a GS or SE model?

The CDA is custom so it totally depends upon what weight rider and riding style the frame was designed for. Also, if is an SE model it comes with an F3 fork which is better than the standard S fork. An e-mail to Serotta with the serial number will get you the dimensions and the weight and style information. Then compare the geometry of the two bikes and decide. If you give Serotta your weight, riding style, etc they will be honest and tell you which is the better buy. Also try the Serotta forum for a second opinion. PM me(dekindy) over there if you do and I will make sure you get help. This is probably not necessary but sometimes threads fall through the cracks.