Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking to buy aero bars for my Felt Speed 22. Picture below, note it's a hybrid.

I'm starting to take on more city streets and I would like to get more aerodynamic and (attempt) to keep up with those “pesky” roadies. Needless to say as a novice I’m quickly learning that weight, tires and aerodynamics (lung capacity of course) are a key in not just getting up to speed, but maintaining it. Keep in mind the majority of my riding (just recently up to 60 miles, I’m a newbie still) is on bike paths but getting to them is putting me on the streets from time to time. I would also like to have more hand positions while riding and have thought about getting bar ends as well. Of course my handlebar will look like a hat rack when done, will this put me in the "Fred" division, the “just plain silly” class, or "who gives a crap, it's my bike and I'll do what I want with it" category?

Now it's hard not to notice how the majority here feel about aero bars being unstable and how I will be shunned from group rides. Well, I ride solo and I'm not really into the whole roadie group ride "thing". I stick by the beach where the ocean views and the often seen "bikini babe" sighting are, camera in hand. I also wouldn't use the aero bars on heavily traveled bike paths (too many people, need to stop quickly sometimes), just streets where I can get up to top speed. I have met a couple of people on hybrids with aero bars that swear by them, adding 2mph to their speed. I realize it will take some time to get used to, I'm confident I can. If not, well I can always sell them on Craigslist...