Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Workin' for the Man
240 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Practice makes perfect.

I'm not a beginner rider by any means, but I'd always made excuses for not getting into the wrenching aspects except for the most basic necessities. I finally bought a new chain tool that's compatible with today's lighter, narrower chains, and decided to change my own chain. How hard could it be?

I removed the old chain, and I knew it was too long, so I eyeballed it and removed a few links from the new chain. Don't try that method, unless you know what you're doing. I certainly didn't. I threaded the new chain in, placed the new (Shimano) rivet on, and began to push it in. Snap! Back to the shop for a new rivet.

I bought three, just in case. That's $2.00 each, by the way! The 2nd time worked, but the chain was too short...I added two links back, which used the other two rivets. Almost done.

My question: one of the links is still a little tight -- what's a good technique to loosen it? Thanks!

·
Registered
203 Posts
The time's I've had to loosen a sticky link in a chain, I've just grabbed the two links in my hands and bent the chain up and down over and over again (i.e., make a "V" shape, and then an upside-down "V" shape with the chain). Bend the chain a few dozen times and your sticky link should go away.

Your hands will get filthy, so either wear gloves or have some hand-cleaner available.

·
Cycling induced anoesis
13,019 Posts
kfurrow said:
The time's I've had to loosen a sticky link in a chain, I've just grabbed the two links in my hands and bent the chain up and down over and over again (i.e., make a "V" shape, and then an upside-down "V" shape with the chain). Bend the chain a few dozen times and your sticky link should go away.

Your hands will get filthy, so either wear gloves or have some hand-cleaner available.