Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 20 of 78 Posts

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am a commuter that usually posts over on C&T. I used to ride bikes a lot when I was younger up to age 22. Now 34 and been riding to work 16 miles RT since 8/05. And I am a cigarette smoker, a little less than a pack a day for 10 years. I don't smoke when I ride. Lost weight through riding and now considering quitting smoking, but not real sure why. Made an appointment for this Friday with the doctor to get a full physical and share my"secret habit", since I have never told him. I have never tried to quit before.

I ride alone on a fixed gear in the winter and tend to push pretty hard to and from work. I don't find it tough to ride in the winter, but all my family and co-workers think it's a big deal. My thought is if I can ride in this junk maybe I could quit smoking. I find that on the bike and about an hour after I don't feel the need. But, in the car driving thats another story ;)
I am a huge fan of the ULTRA sour candy and gum. My plan is to buy every kind walmart sells and try to substitute the candy for the smokes. Part of the problem is I can't find any good motivation to quit. I feel healthy and I don't get any heat from anyone about it.
Any ex-smokers have any advice? Any helpful success stories? Any roadblocks?

Thanks
MN Dan
Feel free to PM me if you don't want to post.

·
Banned
6,360 Posts
"Thinking" about it but "not sure why"? WTF?

Full disclosure: I've never smoked, never been tempted, never understood why people do it. My mom was a smoker (died of cancer, by the way, after a long decline that nearly destroyed my father and the rest of the family), and even when I was 5 or 6 years old I thought it was a stupid thing to do.
Having said that, though: If you're just "thinking" about it, forget it. You're not serious about quitting, and you won't stick with it, so save yourself grief and guilt and just let it go.