Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
They came stock on my 07 Specialized Roubaix Expert and I'm considering moving up.
I weigh 165 and ride the valleys and coastal mountains in Northern California so roads can be a bit rough sometimes and whatever I get needs to hold up. I ride pretty aggressively and love climbing and fast hilly rides. I rationalize the idea that it is to drop some weight to decrease that turning moment a bit when accelerating. I am not a pro rider I can still appreciate performance improvements. But I realize this is as much about "bling" as anything though feeling faster means you will be faster--so I don't under estimate the power of "bling".

I think these are good solid rims and have served well but certainly there are better out there. I'll keep them for Winter and nasty weather rides. Given my weight and the riding I do I think alloy not carbon but I am open to carbon if durable enough.

I did dump the Roubaix tires after a few months for Vredestein Fortezza SEs which seem better and hold up well.

I am considering Roval Royal Fusee SLs but they seem to get a fair amount of criticism.
So I thought I ask in the forum.

If anyone has some suggestions I'd appreciate them as I don't know much about wheels though I am working on that.

· monkey with flamethrower
821 Posts
Its hard to beat a handbuilt wheel with top notch hubs and spokes. Something like a DT Swiss 1,1 or Mavic Open Pro rim with Dura-Ace hubs and high end spokes from DT or Sapim will weigh around 1500 grams, be very stiff and very durable while being easily repaired while not costing that much.
The prebuilt factory wheels often use junky hubs, and proprietary spokes and rims that can cause problems when you need to source replacements. They look cool and for some reason cost more, but aren't any better than some variation of the wheel I just described above.

· Banned forever.....or not
24,573 Posts