Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
656 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i haven't ridden my bike in about two weeks, and i think i might be developing a nervous twitch as a result. i'm taking twelve units of classes, as well as working 30-40hrs a week, and i just plain don't have time to ride (not to mention the whole social thing). i'm getting As on every exam in every class, and i was just promoted to chef at my place of employment (i'm 19, and i'm a chef? SWEET!), and i'm really happy about those things, but it's no fun not having time to ride.

the insult is added to the injury in the form of the shiny, red, 2006 S-Works E5 with full 7800 gruppo sitting in my garage. i've been hitting the gym about 3-4 days a week, and i've gained a fair amount of muscle mass in both legs and upper body, but i still feel like a slug. i also recently purchased a pair of Giordana bib knickers and a thermal jersey for this chilly spring weather that's been going on, and both are still unused.

how do people have time to work, go to school, and still ride? i don't get it. all i want to do is ride my damn bike and feel fit again, and i can't wait all the way until may when school is over. does anybody want to pool savings, move to spain, and ride bikes all day?????

i think i'm done ranting.

·
Moderatus Puisne
15,882 Posts
hear, hear.

I'm really happy I can be a student and NOT work full time, so I can still ride my bike a decent number of hours a week. Riding with my collegiate teammates who also have 40-hour-a-week jobs, I feel almost like I'm ... cheating, somehow, since I cycle 15-20 hours / wk, and one guy I know would be pretty darned fit if he wasn't confined to the rollers M-F.

Now that it's staying light 'till 8:00, though, he'll be hitting the road a bit more.

Espana, alli veniramos!

·
Registered
127 Posts
soulsurfer104 said:
i haven't ridden my bike in about two weeks.