Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Frog Whisperer
41,515 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
does a wet road provide less rolling resistance?

I was running some errands today on one of my fixed and got caught in the rain...not hard, just enough to get a little bit of spray from the tires....for some reason it just seemed to be a bit faster and easier....

I was hesitant to hammer and see if I really could go faster (on the whole trip back vs there) due to the fact that the roads, while not REAL wet, were still wet....

·
Stumpcake!
5,950 Posts
Touch0Gray said:
does a wet road provide less rolling resistance?
I would think yes but not in a good way. I think that there is less rolling resistance because the water on the roads is reducing your dry road coefficient of friction....but I'm not an engineer so I could be wrong. Further I think grip is reduced so I would think you'd lose some of your effort when you really hammered.

·
Frog Whisperer
41,515 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
i was NOT hammering and WAS being pretty cautious...LOL.....I don't need to go down on a wet road....I KNOW the friction is reduced.......

·
Registered
14,776 Posts
I suspect it's an illusion, but I have no hard data. Intuitively, I'd think that pushing water out of the way, and picking up water as the tires rotate, would cost you some energy and slow you down a bit. On the other hand, water flowing over and through the chain may lubricate it more and reduce the lost energy there -- but that's pretty minor anyway. I like the way the mechanical parts of the bike sound so quiet and smooth when riding in the wet. It's one of the little compensations.

·
Registered
202 Posts
I know from personal experience..

... that frost can make for zero rolling resistance. Both tires moved sideways.

It seems like water plus the oils on the pavement could provide a lower rolling resistance.

TT

·
Frog Whisperer
41,515 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
DoubleTap said: