Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2,580 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've always been curious to try a deep section carbon wheel, but being a big guy, I didn't want to invest $3k on a set of carbon wheels, only to melt the brake tracks and die on the first fast decent.

These have an aluminum brake track, a wide profile, and seem to check off all of the right boxes. $1100 seems like a 'too good to be true' price, especially when comparing to Zipp, ENVE, etc...

I'm a complete newb when it comes to carbon wheels though. Am I missing something?

HED Jet 6+ Carbon Road Wheelset - Clincher | Competitive Cyclist

·
Registered
2,580 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I had thought I might try to find some Shimano C-35 on sale as a good all around carbon wheel.

I'm not too concerned about weight, but more about the crosswind handling (we have lots of those here).

The C-35 is on sale as well, just a few hundred more
Shimano C35 Carbon Road Wheelset - Clincher | Competitive Cyclist

Has Shimano announced new Dura Ace wheels yet? I'm wondering if these will get cheaper ...

·
Forever a Student
4,963 Posts
They have. The C35 is dead now. Only rim that will be built like that now will be the C24. Similar to the construction of the C50, the new wheels are the C40 and C60. C75 and C50 are dead too.

·
Registered
2,580 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
They have. The C35 is dead now. Only rim that will be built like that now will be the C24. Similar to the construction of the C50, the new wheels are the C40 and C60. C75 and C50 are dead too.
Thanks,

Good info.

I don't see the C40 for sale anywhere, at least not with a quick google search...

Is there anything I could know about the C-35 (or the HED Jet 6+) that would make me not want them? Known issues, etc?