Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am brand new to fixed gear riding and going to purchase one. I'm not able to build one myself but would like one with fenders for comuting. Money is a consideration but not the most important. Any thoughts on the fixed gear bike Rivendell is offering? Desired frame size 58 - 60.

·
Endure26
175 Posts
Rivendell and Grant Peterson have a cult following. IMO the Riv Quickbeam is overpriced when compared to other fixed-gear completes on the market.

If you want a canti- equipped fixie like the QB, check out the Bianchi San Jose (a fraction of the cost of a Riv), the On One Il Pompino, or the Surly Cross Check (can be built geared or fixed).

·
Registered
2,633 Posts
Only seen one, never ridden one.

So this is a totally subjective opinion. It's very show-offy. Craftsmanship looks wasted to me on what I think of as an industrial type bike.

·
Non non normal
10,086 Posts
I agree with the above opinions. They charge a bunch of money for a bike and a philosophy. There are many steel fixed gear bikes out there for a fraction of the price including Kogswell, Lemond Fillmore, Milwaukee, Soma,etc.

·
Roadbike Rider
1,260 Posts
More upright riding position

They are built for the high-rise stem and for handling with more of your weight back. If you want a more aggressive posture or plan on mostly smooth pavement riding then the Rivendell or Quickbeam is not your ideal choice.

I like the workmanship in the Rivendell models and admire Grant's steadfast philosophy of building comfortable and versatile bikes with practical components and a high quality of workmanship.

I'm trying to talk my wife into either a Rivendell or a Mariposa but she thinks it's too much money for a bike.

·
Registered
185 Posts
Bianchi San Jose