Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there,
in the interest of being cheap, I have my eyes on some sixteen hole rims to practice wheelbuilding for the first time on my own. trouble is, thirty two hole hubs seem equally cheaper to find, whereas sixteen hole hubs are super pricey. I was wondering if anyone has experience building wheels skipping every other hole on the hub. And with sixteen spokes, what should the rear wheel look like ideally? I'm not heavy (150 in the off-season), and the rims I'm looking at are Velocity aero so I understand thier failure is not probable...anyone have any hot tips? Thanks in advance. :)

·
Call me a Fred
16,999 Posts
While I am not a rim designer, if I were I would design the 32 holes rim with the knowledge that the stresses have to be spread over the 32 attachment points. For a 16 holes rim, I would have to make the attachment points carry twice the stress of the 32 hole one. That would likely drive up the cost.

I would not feel safe riding a 32 hole rim that used only 16 spokes. I would expect rim failure to have a higher probability of occuring.

·
Registered
1,348 Posts
MikeBiker said:
I would not feel safe riding a 32 hole rim that used only 16 spokes. I would expect rim failure to have a higher probability of occuring.
He's not talking about a 32 hole rim, he's talking about a 16 hole rim and a 32 hole hub. Should be fine for a front wheel. With that having been said, don't get cute with crazy-light spokes. If you are new to wheel building, get someone to look your wheel over before you ride it with a group.

Even at 150, I wouldn't hand-build a 16 spoke rear.

·
Banned forever.....or not
24,415 Posts