Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I've been riding my CAAD3 since 2001 and have a few thousand miles on it. I really like Cannondale and have been looking at some new ones. I'm about to start test riding some new bikes and wanted to see what everyone thinks about what I should get. I'm looking at spending around $3000-$3500 for a new whip. Carbon maybe, I'm going to dallas soon to look at some BLUE bikes and test them out maybe because no one rides them around here. I like being different. I usually ride around 100-150mi a week and plan on doing some centuries this summer.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Jeepster

·
monkey with flamethrower
821 Posts
Are you asking for suggestions on bikes that are different? Or just for people to tell you that a Blue is the bike you want?
I'll tell you about some great lesser known bikes though for sh*ts and giggles.
If you like aluminum, like your Cannondale, Co-Motion will build you a really nice aluminum frame. Kitted out with a nice midrange parts package will probably be about 3500. You won't see anyone riding those. Maybe look at a Salsa Podio too for nice aluminum.
There are tons of great small shops that makes sweet steel rides. Salsa, Vicious, Gunnar, Bilenky, Co-Motion, VooDoo ect.
For Carbon, the options are limitless. The Ibis Silk is a great value bike and there aren't many out there.
Lots of superb bike besides Blue for a bike that you will rarely see another of the same make on the road.

·
monkey with flamethrower
821 Posts
MarvinK said:
I can't imagine recommending a co-motion over a CAAD9... sorry, they're just not better.
[/url]