Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking to find a new bike for mostly road use with lots of hills but got into triathlons a couple of years ago but so far have been using the events as a focus to keep fit, so only doing 1-2 per year. I bought a specialized allez sport to get me started and now would like to upgrade.
As I am still a novice with the sport, I was looking for some advice. I really love the time trial bikes, but having never ridden one and I am a bit concerned about the use that I would get out of this on a weekly basis considering my training incorporates cycling lots of hills. So, I was trying to narrow down my options before finding the right ride.
I am considering the felt AR4 as although it is not an outright time trial bike, it is an aero road bike that may suit my general training and riding better and if this is a sensible option, are there alternatives, and also do I size the AR4 smaller to be more like a time trial geometry?
Any comments would be greatly appreciated!

·
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
8,151 Posts
they actually had a write-up about this in roadbike action magazine, i think the january 09 issue. they compared TT bikes vs. aero bikes at lowe's motor speedway, and put them both in the wind tunnel and all that jazz. the result, if i remember right, was that the TT bikes performed better, but for all intents and purposes, the aero road bike would serve just as well.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for all your comments - my gut feeling was to go for the road bike also.