Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
well i just got hired today at my local bike shop. i will be working in sales. im a 20yo college student and was wondering if anyone had any advice? im starting on thursday btw.

·
Registered
339 Posts
Learn the bikes that your lbs stocks, their strengths & weaknesses and what makes one bike suit a particular person over another. Don't try to sell a customer a bike they don't need, if they are all gung ho for a bike that isn't going to suit their needs at least try to explain to them why another bike would be more suitable even if the more suitable bike is cheaper.

If a customer asks a question you aren't sure on then ask one of the store experts or look it up, don't try to fudge your way through answering a question.

I assume you ride? Share your experiences, get to know the local scene like if your LBS has a team or a club, get involved in it or if there are social rides in your area ride them and let your customers know what is out there. You will get a lot of first time customers and local knowledge like that is invaluable.

Anyway just a few tips from an armchair critic. ;)

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks, yeah i do ride, but im really not in shape cardio-wise at all. i have some bike knowledge in terms of components but not a whole lot, im just trying to learn how to be a good seller since im working off of comission. thanks for the tips.

·
Registered
19 Posts
be honest and friendly

about all - be honest and friendly

sales can be tough - sell a bike "for" the customer not "to" the customer

·
The Right Wing
843 Posts
Ha!