Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm in my first year of Cat 5 racing and was doing respectably well while learning how to do it I thought (always placing in the top ten out of 40-50 riders whether it's a crit, RR, or TT).

My highest placings have been in races with some inclines, so I was excited to enter a crit with two short steep climbs. The thinking was that I'd have a better chance of shedding the sprinters who usually get me at the end.

Not how it played out at all! Turns out that the course was filled with broken up pavement, potholes, and sections of rough brick. I rode the course beforehand (no problem) but at speed in the race my bike was bouncing around under me like a ping-pong ball, especially on the descents, which led me to scrub speed and eventually get dropped and finish near the back.

Without giving it any thought, I've always inflated my tires to the recommended 120psi, but I'm realizing that's not such a good idea for rough roads. I'm a bit under 150 pounds. What should I be running?

·
Cycling induced anoesis
13,006 Posts
I've posted this link many times, but think the explanation (text) is very informative and the chart, a good starting point for experimenting.

Michelin Bicycle USA - A better way forward®

At your weight, I'd suggest starting at around 100PSI and tailoring (f/r) pressures (probably downward) from there.

FWIW, I'm lighter than you (~136 lbs.) and run 25c's. Something to consider for those rough roads.

·
'brifter' is f'ing stupid
15,665 Posts
I'm in my first year of Cat 5 racing and was doing respectably well while learning how to do it I thought (always placing in the top ten out of 40-50 riders whether it's a crit, RR, or TT).

My highest placings have been in races with some inclines, so I was excited to enter a crit with two short steep climbs. The thinking was that I'd have a better chance of shedding the sprinters who usually get me at the end.