Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
349 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just got a new bike and the first 50 miles I got a flat. I am new to road riding and lbs store said my tire was garbage because I had a tiny piece of glass in tire and I had to replace the tire.
Is this true? Is there anything you can do to use the tire again?

· Registered
21,832 Posts
Boot it

lucky13 said:
I just got a new bike and the first 50 miles I got a flat. I am new to road riding and lbs store said my tire was garbage because I had a tiny piece of glass in tire and I had to replace the tire.
As Fred said, it depends on the size of the cut. You can try booting it and see what results. Take a piece of Tyvek (the white "plastic paper" from FedEx or PriorityMail envelopes) and fold it so you have 4 thicknesses. It should be around 1" x 2" when folded, depending on where it's going to go in the tire. Insert it so it's centered on the cut, and then remount the tire and pump it up. If you get a bulge in the tire at that point, then likely the tire is indeed trashed. No bulge? Put some superglue or Shoe Goo in the cut and ride it.

· Registered
349 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Kerry Irons said:
As Fred said, it depends on the size of the cut. You can try booting it and see what results. Take a piece of Tyvek (the white "plastic paper" from FedEx or PriorityMail envelopes) and fold it so you have 4 thicknesses. It should be around 1" x 2" when folded, depending on where it's going to go in the tire. Insert it so it's centered on the cut, and then remount the tire and pump it up. If you get a bulge in the tire at that point, then likely the tire is indeed trashed. No bulge? Put some superglue or Shoe Goo in the cut and ride it.

What do you recommend for tire PSI on a road bike? 100-120 psi?

· RoadBikeRider
1,053 Posts