Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm very new to road riding and got my very first full week in (mon-sun) on my bike. I feel really tired. I got 207 miles in for the week. Thats a lot for me. Is it normal to feel kinda sick? I'm having some heat flashes, nothing serious. I may be dehydrated. I feel like all I do is drink water all day long. I'm thinking about riding on Monday because the weather man is forecasting rain on Tues,Wed,Thurs, and maybe Friday. Should I just wait till Saturday and rest a week or will that set me back? If anyone has felt like this and knows any secrets please let me know. Thanks......Justin :D

·
Censored by *********
1,397 Posts
Justin,

You are overdoing it. 200 miles a week is something to work up to, not start out with. And if you're feeling sick, you should listen to your body.

It does sound like you're dehydrated. Remember, the body can only absorb fluids at a set rate, so even if you're drinking a lot you can still be dehydrated. Better to drink a little bit at regular intervals.

If you feel compelled to ride tomorrow (I know the feeling), try to force yourself to go really, really slowly. How slowly? Make it so that you feel almost no resistance on the pedals. If you have a heart rate monitor, you can set zones for yourself. Then it will be obvious if you're overdoing it. My max heart rate is 201 BPM. If I were trying to go really easy, I'd make sure I didn't exceed 140 going up hill and spend most of the time under 120.

There's no reason to push yourself to feeling sick, unless you're in a race.

Paul

mtnbikenc1979 said: