Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm just getting into cycling and I recently bought a bike off craigslist. I think I got a pretty good deal on it, but the guy I bought it from did a little bit of racing, so some of the parts are a little too lightweight for me (230 lbs) I'm working on slowly switching out parts, but the first (and cheapest) is going to be the tires. The ones on it are really small/lightweight slicks that I don't think will last long.

I've been riding mostly country roads, about 50 miles a week, but plan on upping it to around 100. Can you recommend a tire that will hold up to my weight and the not-so-well paved country roads?

thanks

P.S. my wheels are 13mm wide and 27mm deep. Don't know if that makes a difference...

·
p != b
2,303 Posts
Really, just look for a fatter tire - 25 should be fine, 28 or bigger may be better, but may not fit in the frame. If you let us know what frame it is (both brand and model) someone here may have experience with the bike and know just what size tires will fit.

Otherwise, head down to the LBS, find a tire that looks good and is affordable that says 700x25 on the side, and buy it.

·
Registered
151 Posts
If you can splurge a little on tires I would highly encourage you to try some Tufo tubular clinchers. They will pretty much eliminate any possibility of pinch flats and can be ridden a little ways completely flat which can't be said of any other clincher on the market. They really do roll well for larger riders as well since they can be inflated to 220 psi which allows you to play around with tire pressures to suit your needs. Most clinchers available are only rated to a maximum of 110-116 psi so they depress alot for heavier riders or for those who are on country roads a lot.

http://www.biketiresdirect.com/productdetail.asp?p=TUCSS

http://www.biketiresdirect.com/productdetail.asp?p=TUCSP