Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

· Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Any thoughts on which one?

My current ride is a steel 853 compact Schwinn (super sport gtx) shimano 105, Neuvations R28 SL3 (1540g) that i've been riding for 8 years. I'm 5'71/2 and 160 pounds.

I do feel that the Siena is a stiff bike just by design. But is bargain titanium ok or still too soft? I never rode Ti and it is almost impossible for me to demo one. I'm aware that the difference is mostly in the tube shapes and geometry because they all are 3.5Al 2v.

Siena is Ultegra with Fulcrum racing 7 wheels: $4000

Everti: $1600 (Frame)

Motobecane with Ultegra and basic Ritcheys is $1700(!)

The best geometry would be the Siena and Motobecane, the Everti being a tad short.

What i'm looking for is something snappier(read faster) and lighter than my Schwinn, should not be hard with the 41.5 paper thin chainstays and skinny tubes. The Neuvations are great, not harsh.

I ride very bad hilly roads so a full on race bike might be a bit too much, hence the titanium interest.

thanks

· Registered
1,158 Posts
There's lots of Everti around here, because the company is just up the road in Duncan, BC. They seem to be awesome bikes. I've never heard anyone complain about them, and the LBS that sells the frames says that the quality has gone up since production was shifted from Russia to China a couple of years ago.

· Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Sight unseen?

Schwinn carbon? Not a fan but they are a good value for sure. I'd like to change brands tough.

The problem is I'm north of Montreal(hills, not mountains by BC standards) and I have yet to spot my first Everti, let alone a Motobecane.

I did see a Siena at a dealer, an amazing bike, but 1900grams wheels on a 4k bicycle?

I did not see a single titanium rig in all of last year: it's all carbon or aluminium. Cant even get feedback from a local.