Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2,744 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was at Costco today and saw that they had "Little Hotties" toe warmers, so I picked up a box. I've never used them before, so any advice for cycling use? Under the toes or on top? Other advice? Thanks.

·
Banned
7,744 Posts
Put them on the top of your sock. They also work stuck to your bar tape (sometimes you have to use electrical tape also). If you use glove liners in the winter you can use them between the liner and the glove on the palm (works better than hotties hand warmers on the back of the liners)
I was at Costco today and saw that they had "Little Hotties" toe warmers, so I picked up a box. I've never used them before, so any advice for cycling use? Under the toes or on top? Other advice? Thanks.

·
Registered
8,224 Posts
I put them under my toes. I have not had a problem with them moving, even in hunting boots when walking. I do not find them to get warm enough to work outside the shoe.

·
Registered
5,699 Posts
They need oxygen to work which is why they don't get that warm crammed inside a winter shoe. They work OK, but winter shoes are better. All I ride in the cold is an hour each way to and from work, so chemical toe warmers would be a waste of money for me.

·
Registered
2,346 Posts
Been using them for years - only way I can ride sub-35 degrees. As others have said, on top of toes, outside of sock... inside of shoe. Not saying under isn't as good... just haven't done it that way.

Side note: If you're looking for these things - use this link: https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_...x=little+hottie+to,aps,139&crid=1SC95HRWNZ0YJ

Don't Google "Little Hotties"... at least when your kids are around ;-)

·
Registered
20,727 Posts
They need oxygen to work which is why they don't get that warm crammed inside a winter shoe.
They need oxygen, but not a lot. More oxygen just makes the chemical reaction go faster and shortens their life.