Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2,009 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm a newbie. 54 years of age, 5'11" 240 lbs., in reasonably good shape but carrying a few eatra pounds. I bought a 27 speed road bike this year with pedals and toe clips with a pair of Adidas El Moro III MTB shoes. The toes of these shoes are wrapped in rubber. My feet are fairly wide, EEE.

The problem is my toes and balls of my feet hurt when I ride a "long" distance. I don't know if the toes hurt because 1) the shoes are a little tight, rather snug, in the wide part of the foot but loose enough in the toes that I can wiggle them or 2) when I ride my feet swell or 3) I'm using regular pedals rather than clipless pedals & cleats or 4) I'm not use to riding a long way or 5) I should have gotten road shoes instead and I wouldn't have this problem 6) I should have bough wider MTB shoes.

When I bought these shoes, the salesperson said you want them to feel a little snug because you don't want your feet to move inside the shoe. He said you want them to feel snugger than a regular sneaker. In the store, they felt snug, but not tight. They didn't hurt me and they still don't when I walk around the house or ride short distances, they just feel snug. They feel snug around the top of my feet and slightly on the side, they don't feel tight on my toes. I have enough room to wiggle my toes.

I just put the shoes on this morning, and they feel great. They certainly don't feel tight, just snug around the top and side of my foot, about 3" above the toes.