Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm thinking about finally dropping the dough on a torque wrench, now that Nashbar has this one for $40:

Since I've never used one before I have a couple of (dumb) questions.

How would I go about using this (or another model) for tightening something like a cassette? I don't think my Pedro's lockring tool is 3/8 inch drive.

Is this a better design than a beam type (Park)? The Park seams to have a better range (The MIT is 120-960 inch-pounds, Park is 0-600), but I don't really like the beam type.

Lastly, is it even worth getting a torque wrench?

·
Registered
203 Posts
I've been thinking about getting a torque wrench myself. Most people seem to prefer the clicker type like the Nashbar over the beam type like the Park. A couple of points to consider:

1) Is it reversible (i.e. can it be set to read torque both clockwise and counterclockwise)? If it isn't, you can't use it to torque left-hand threads like bottom bracket cups, which for me is one of the main reasons I want to get one in the first place. Beam type wrenches are inherently reversible.

2) Can it be calibrated. There are many services out there that will calibrate/service torque wrenches (e.g. TeamTorque.com), and they will have a list of the makes/models they support. You should make sure you have some place to take the wrench to periodically have it calibrated (though at that price it's probably nearly as cheap to toss the wrench and buy a new one every few years). I suspect that these no-name wrenches are all made in the same few factories in China so most service companies probably can get parts for them. From what I've read the beam type wrenches don't need to be calibrated, but are harder to use which means you probably won't use it as accurately in the first place, so it's probably a wash.