Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, I'm a road cycling newbie about to buy my first road bike. I've been riding a Specialized mtn bike with road tires on it but ready to upgrade and I could use some advice.

I'm trying to decide between the Bianchi Via Nirone 7 Tiagra vs the Trek 2.1 with Tiagra/105.
I really like the ride of the Bianchi and the swooping frame is sweet. The price is right in my range for my first RD ($1199). My question is, how different is the ride going to be with full Tiagra components vs a Tiagra/105 mix? I just don't know how much difference I would notice.

I'm currently doing 20-30 mile rides with ambitions to do 40-50 with moderate hills. I am training for a triathlon but don't plan on using my bike for frequent racing.

Anyone have opinions about either bike/components? Anyone else riding either one of them and care to share?

·
Registered
66 Posts
I got a via narone with an ultegra build for 1200 from jensonusa.com.

I really like it. It's good for long rides. Comfy but you can still punch it when you need to.

But looking at jenson's site they might have run out of those bikes. I think they were last year's frames. But you could give them a call and ask. You never know.

Personally, I think there is a big jump from Tiagra to 105. I notice 105 is more of a set it and forget situation versus Tiagra which seems more finicky and sluggish feeling, at least in the rear derailleur department.

My two bits.

·
Registered
10,161 Posts
comments...

The Bianchi appears to be a triple only, while the Trek may be had with a 50/34 compact or triple. The Trek also comes is a WSD verison, if you need it, to fit properly. Unless you climb a lot of hills or mountains, the compact crank setup might be the better choice. With Shimano shifters, it's easier to deal with.

To insure that you enjoy your bike, invest in a good fitting. There's nothing worse than a bike that doesn't fit.

·