Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im very new to road biking, Im really big into mtb but I really want to step into road riding to stay in shape for the trails. Since I spend way too much on my mtb I cant afford a very nice road bike just entry level. I have narrowed it down to either a Trek 1000 or the Specialized Allez Triple. Which would any of you guys prefer that have ridden one of these bikes. I also would love to see a pic of a 06 red Allez Triple if anyone has it, it definently has me in the looks department from the web site.

·
Registered
339 Posts
Spec wise they are both pretty much the same except the Trek has a SRAM cassette and the Specialized has Shimano both are still 8 speed though.

Ride both and see what one feels more comofrtable to you, if that doesn't make the decision for you then get the prettiest one. The Team Red in the Allez does look rather nice as in passing it looks like a top of the range S-Works bike, amnyone know what genius thought that idea up?

·
Banned
1,013 Posts
I have the 05 Allez Triple. I like it alot. I think it may have more carbon then the trek (seat post). I rode both at the LBS. The compact frame on the Allez may make it easy to not bang your balls on the top bar. If you are comparing just those two bikes, then I'd go for looks.

·
gazing from the shadows
27,387 Posts
The specialized has a bit steeper angles, so it will probably handle a bit quicker, while the trek will be a bit more stable. Ride both and pick the one that feels best.

·
Registered
973 Posts
I rode both and prefer the Trek over the Specialized. The trek has a more comfortable ride for me. Both have carbon seat posts. I was in the same price range as you, so I bought used instead of new.

I got a 2005 Felt F80 for a couple hundred less than a new T1000 or Allez.

·
Registered
5 Posts
tough choice