Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So I should probably start off by mentioning that I got a killer deal on a road bike over the holiday season. I snagged a 2005 Trek 1500 from a former triathlete for $500 (he paid $1300 new w/accessories). The bike is superlight and superfast, but, alas, it doesn't really suit my needs. I'm fairly new to biking, so I figured that, hell, a road bike is a road bike. I didn't understand the subtle differences in frame geometry affect how the bike rides, and that a racing bike would not be well suited to certain styles of riding. Silly me.

I now realize that I want a frame more suited to touring. I don't race and don't plan on it. I like cycling in all weather conditions, taking in the scenery, and may even commute and/or do some touring this summer. So I have come up with a couple plans of action:
(1) Sell the 1500, hopefully for more than I paid, and search around to try to find a (complete) quality touring bike used (possibly even new one if the price is reduced substantially). The main question here is: are there places (other than craigslist) to find used bikes online?
or
(2) Buy a new touring frame and switch the components over from the 1500, then sell the 1500 frameset (it is aluminum with a carbon fork). If you're not familiar with the 1500 it has 105 STI shifters, ultegra/105 derailleurs, 105 brakes, and really nice & light Bontrager select wheels (w/700x23 tires). Now, I could only find a couple of touring frames in a search this evening: the "Surly Long Haul Trucker" frameset which sells for $430 at Jensen, and the "Pake C'Mute" frame only for around $200 at a few online retailers. I also checked Nashbar and Performance, so I'm wondering if there are any other sites that might sell quality frames for cheap?
or
(3) The same as #2, only with an older touring frame.