Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5,830 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm considering a new wheelset for my commuter - touring bike. I've been using Ultegra/Open Pros for the past two years (6000+ miles) with no problems, not even a loose or broken spoke. However, my existing wheelset is 32-spoke, and I'm thinking that I should get some 36-spoke wheels for carrying loads. Most of my riding is commuting to work carrying moderate loads, but I would like to do some weekend touring with rear panniers and heavier loads. My frame has 130 mm rear spacing. Here are my questions:

- Would it be sufficient to just buy a 36-spoke rear wheel and keep my existing 32 in the front (assuming I don't use front panniers)?

- Should I consider CXP33s rather than Open Pros, or would they be equally strong in 36 spokes?

- Are straight-gauge spokes stronger than butted spokes? Several mechanics have recommended straight-gauge, but my understanding has always been that butted spokes are just as strong if not stronger (and also lighter).

- Any other brands of rims I should consider? I've had pretty good service from Mavic despite the dreaded OP click on some older wheels.

- Can you recommend any place to buy some touring wheels? Some of the less-expensive dealers (eg, BWW) don't seem to carry 36-spoke rims.

·
Banned
185 Posts
I would go 36h front and rear while you are about it.

Say no to Mavic! Actually, if you want to use wider tires (and you should) than a CXP33 isn't wide enough.

Use butted spokes, they are more elastic and will last longer.

DT Swiss TK 7.1, KinLin ADHN, there are others too....Sun make some wide touring rims.

In the "Partner Stores" section of this site, LikinBikin.com have both rims I mention above listed.

·
Registered
5,830 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
A few more facts. My frame will take tires up to 32 mm, no larger. Also, I want silver rims, not black.

·
Every little counts...
3,924 Posts