Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Could somebody site out the advantages of each and to what type of ride do they excel? Thanks for the help I'm relatively new to road biking coming from an avid mtn. biker I'm clueless when it comes to this aspect..

·
Registered
458 Posts
mikey_mike said:
Could somebody site out the advantages of each and to what type of ride do they excel? Thanks for the help I'm relatively new to road biking coming from an avid mtn. biker I'm clueless when it comes to this aspect..

one has more seat tube and less seat post and the
other has the inverse. it was borne out of giant bicycle's
early 90s desire to have fewer inventory sku's; "a 3-4 sizes
fits all" approach to dealer inventory and distribution. there
were less sizes, seat tube-wise, yet more selection in the
stem/seatpost assembly department. through all the ups/downs,
UCI machinations, and copycat-ers, "compact" won over a
generation. imo, it's mostly an aesthetic, yet so many assign
engineering attributes to it that i simply don't get. the weight
issue is one of them. recently, i took the offcuts of seat tubes,
seat stays, and seat posts that were the dregs of morphing
a trad frame into a compact design, and the net result was
that using less "tube" and more "post" was actually a weight
penalty rather than an asset. for the tech-minded, the test bed
was the thin end of a deda zero pipe as well as the tops of
corresponding seat stays, along with a campagnolo cf post.
e-RICHIE©™®

·
Registered
323 Posts
e-RICHIE said:
one has more seat tube and less seat post and the
other has the inverse. it was borne out of giant bicycle's
early 90s desire to have fewer inventory sku's; "a 3-4 sizes
fits all" approach to dealer inventory and distribution. there
were less sizes, seat tube-wise, yet more selection in the
stem/seatpost assembly department. through all the ups/downs,