Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The other day my wife mentioned she would like to get an exercise bike, and I mentioned to her that perhaps instead she should opt for a trainer. That way she uses her own bike that she is comfortable with. I've never used one of these things before as living in AZ affords me the opportunity to ride almost anytime I want without having to bring the bike inside.

I think I have convinced her regarding the trainer, but I have no idea which one to chose. There are so many models and types out there. From what I have seen, they are broken down into two categories; fluid and magnetic. I don't want to skimp and buy something on the cheap that might not last, but then again with money a bit tight I thought off buying a decent used unit.

Could any of you please give me some insight as to what would work best.

Thanks

·
Registered
142 Posts
Trainer for your wife?

A trainer for your wife? Resisting the urge to reply,'Sounds like a fair trade to me' :D

Skip over the magnetic ones and go right to the fluid models. The magnetic resistance unit on my Blackburn is loud... so loud no one can be in the same basement room with me. I have to crank the television so high you can hear it up in my 3rd floor bedrooms.

I think the Kinetic models are pretty highly rated... check the review section on trainers.

·
Registered
2,633 Posts
Hard to resist "Hans works for $45.00 per hour."

Make sure she can easily get the bike in and out. Also heard good things about Kinetic, but I run in the winter.

·
Captain Obvious
11,876 Posts
i like my cyclops. i have a fluid one and my wife has an older magnetic one. both create about the same amount of noise. my fluid trainer has a little more resistance, but i'm using it in my cold basement and it seems to take about 5 mins of easy spinning before the resistance picks up more.

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Lol

redcon1 said: