Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to road cycling, and enjoying the change, I've raced XC but your usually on the bike for 2 hours give or take. As a below knee amputee I wear a silicon liner between my residual limb (stump) and the socket, this has never been an issue until I started endurance training. The 3 or more hours in the saddle leaves the back of my knee raw from the liner rubbing. After a 35 mile ride last weekend, I'm unable to get into my leg, and needless to say no riding till I heal. Do you think that chamois butter would prevent this in the future? Any suggestions? THX

·
Registered
940 Posts
I think you should speak with your prosthesis fitter, and get on forums with amputee long distance riders. IMO you are going to want to look at something less generic than chamois butter (which on the best of days is a very mixed bag of opinions). I think you need something that stops the friction, period. Do you wrap the stump still? What modifications are available to amputee athletes, that is really what you want to know. Have you had a specific fitting for your prosthesis etc? Do you have a sports type physio near you? Do you use any lube for the XC?

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·