Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am very new to racing and had another Crit this weekend at Menlo Park. It seems that in the Cat 5 group the pace was very fast. I feel like maybe I'm not training at the right intensity. I was able to keep up with the pack for about 5 or 6 laps (1km course), but after that I got dropped and was never able to recover. My heart rate was a lot higher in the race than where I've been training. Part of that may be nerves, but I think that a lot of it has to do with how hard I am having to work.
I have been riding as a rec rider for about 5 years now and want to take it to the next level, but from what I've experienced in the few races I've done, I think I need to change some things. I am looking for a little direction on my level of training intensity. I know I have not been training as hard as I should and I need some advice regarding intervals and resistance training. Any other advice would be helpful as well. Thanks for your help.

·
Registered
628 Posts
Positioning in the pack

Where are you in the pack before you get dropped? If you are on the back being yo-yo'd, you can be relatively fit and still get dropped. If this is case, try riding closer to the front.

On the other hand, if you are at the front, run out of gas, and get shot out of the back the group, you probably have a fitness issue. The only way to ride faster is to ride faster. Duh.