Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This will be my very first season on the road bike. Remember I do a lot of MTN biking (2-3 days a week for 2-3 hours per day). I recently bought a Cateye Astrale 8. It can tell me my cadence, average speed, max speed, time, odo, and distance. I've got 200 miles in so far on my road bike in February. It's not much but the weather here has been very bad (lots of snow and rain). I would like to do a couple of road races this year just for the heck of it just to see what I can do. I don't care about first place because I know I won't see it this year. I'm very new to road riding and only use that Cateye for my distance right now. I don't really keep up with that cadence feature. I'm 24 years old 6'3, 225 lbs.My average speed is around 14 mph. I can ride 30 miles fairly easily now. I live in NC and there are lots of hills here. Question is: what can I do in my training or riding to help improve my riding skills? I would like to be A LOT FASTER. 14 mph really bites. Should I bring my body weight down a couple of pounds? Remember I have that Cateye to help me out some. So I'm open to suggestions from any and all.
You all are the BEST!!!!..........Justin :D

PS: The pic is for reference. I use to do a lot of bodybuilding so I have a lot of muscle mass(use to weight 280 lbs, now 225 lbs). If you think I need to drop weight just say so. Thanks! :D

·
Registered
11,561 Posts
mtnbikenc1979 said: