Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
378 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been riding on my own pace. When I go to group rides I see people that are slower than me as well as people that are a lot faster than me. As I researched more on training, I realized that just riding two 30 mile routes every weekend will not make me a faster rider. I will have to "train" to become a faster rider - better climber and better sprinter. And what I have been doing is far from what the training articles recommend. I enjoy riding with the group and I also enjoy riding by myself. But I just started riding this spring, and I am not serious enough to think about racing yet.
If I rode hard for 5 min. and cooled down for 5 min. and so on during my routine 30 mile ride, will that help me? There is a moderate hill which is 1/2mile long in my area and I went up and down on it 4 times before completing my 15 mile route yesterday. With this kind of rides, will I improve noticeably in a year or so?:confused: How would you measure improvement? :confused: What kind of goals should I set as a beginner? :confused:
Thanks.

·
\m/
150 Posts
Dude, Your best bet is to just ride as much as you can this year and enjoy doing it. Right now you just need to work on building up your base/endurance.

·
Registered
507 Posts
I ride for form, fitness, and fun. I'm not training for any particular race or group ride, but I still hope to get faster. And I've been riding for many years.
If I'm alone, can I get to point xxx in less time that last weekend? If I'm in a group, can I keep up with the fast people? That's about as detailed my training gets.

As a beginner, there's no objective standard of training for you. That's your choice. Simply put in the miles and the hours on the bike. Change that 30 mile ride to a 50 mile ride. If you want to race you should join a club, & there are many books and online sources for race training regimens.

·
NeoRetroGrouch
6,493 Posts